2004-04-16 - 7:22 a.m.


 

my new calling

I have a new plan of attack should the job I�m applying for fall through today. Work at the liquor store. Not just any liquor store, but the liquor store that I go to near Olde Towne Alexandria. This store could not be more ghetto-fied if it wanted to be and I LOVE IT. Some mothers stroll in there yesterday when I�m trying to decide which vodka will be the lucky one mixed with my club soda. I overhear the following: RM=Random Mother, LW=Liquor Store Worker.

LW: Hey shmo, how you doin�?

RM#1: Oh you know.

LW: I know how it is.

RM#1: Where�s the Hennissey?

RM#1: (To RM#2) You know what? You look like that guy...you know...

LW: (looking at RM#2) Wesley Snipes!

RM#1: Naw, Naw, you know, Morgan Freeman.

LW: That�s it!

RM#2: Wesley Snipes, Morgan Freeman, you know what they say, we all look alike anyway. Why do they say that...and WHO said that? Who was the first one to say that we all look alike *every white person in the store (all three of us) look down*

LW: Morgan Freeman you need to shut up.

RM#2: I�m just sayin, they say that.

Unfortunately I was paying at the time and we left before we heard the conclusion to that. How awesome would it be to hear that all day? Other places I would like to work, or at least be able to hang out all day:

1. Barber shop

2. Liquor Store

3. Maintenance office in my apartment building

This morning I�m going to the lovely city of McLean, VA for round two of my interview with the mothers that sell deluxe soap/shower gel/conditioner/shampoo, etc to the hotels that would win Star Search (due to their rating of 4 and 5 stars). I don�t think they ever went up to 5 stars, but work with me here because who doesn�t want to have an Ed McMahon reference in their entry? After the interview I�m going to meet up with a friend for lunch and then I�ll be hauling my ass onto the streets of Washington D.C. to work three measly hours (I�ve already worked 37) so that I don�t have to take vacation time today.

I�m excited to see Kill Bill vol.2, go out to shake it tonight at Apex, and eat some bacon. If anything crazy happens I�ll update...as long as it�s not so earth shattering that my ability to type suddenly dissipates.

e.

Diaryland