2004-01-15 - 12:33 p.m.


 

get me outta here

So, Kristin is in London and I�m not. I just attended a telecom about stupid things and beforehand I didn�t know if I was supposed to take meeting minutes or what. During the meeting I wrote down like � of what was said not knowing if that�s what I was supposed to be doing. If that wasn�t my purpose for being there then I don�t know why I was invited because it�s not like I had anything to say about the discussion topics. The guy I support (read: my boss) kept looking over to me when someone would say something important and I took that as a cue to write it down. The snag is that after the meeting he said nothing was going to be documented. So why, may I ask, was I there? Before I could ask what was going on later today he disappeared. I know there�s another meeting from 1-3 but I�m not invited. He leaves shortly thereafter. Whatever. Not like I want to go back to that building anyway.

That first paragraph had absolutely nothing funny in it. That�s because my life has been far from funny recently, unless you count the time on Monday when I was at home in my underwear going to the kitchen to get something to drink and someone was outside the apartment building and saw me through the window. I figured the time of day wasn�t major traffic time outside the building plus I forgot to shut the blinds. Oh well, if being a voyeur is your thing, then take a look-see. Why be in your underwear when it�s the middle of winter you ask? Because my dear diarylanders, my apartment is hotter than Calcutta in July. It�s like living in a crock-pot. We have no control over the heat plus our apartment is under the boiler room. It�s like coming home everyday to a schvitz.

I get paid tomorrow and plan on making a stop to H&M on Sunday as well as the planned trip to Ikea with the parents. I used to H&M all the time in Paris but never went in and now mama needs some new clothes for spring and some more crap for winter so it�s time to turn that mother out. There was an Ikea near Paris as well, but it was by the airport and it�s not like I was going to drag my ass out there to see what was going on because it�s not like particleboard furniture is a lightweight item to carry back to the States.

I keep thinking about taking a vacation somewhere good. Somewhere good means anywhere but here. I would also like it to be a place that I would have to board a plane to get to. The airfare to Paris right now is about 250 dollars. That along makes me want to hop a flight for 4 or 5 days. The snag is I�d have to find somewhere to stay and I�m not sure Dr. C would come with me. Caribbean would be nice, but it�s peak season and I�m not trying to be there when it�s all sexpensive and what not. Thankfully I now have the new season of America�s Top Model to enterain me every Wednesday night at 9:00. That one chick Jenascia looks EXACTLY like Angelina Jolie. It�s frightening. The chick that got booted last night refused to pose nude. When asked by the judges why that was, one of them pointed out that it was probably religious purposes. She said it wasn�t religion; she just wanted to be �Christ-like.� What? Idiot.

So there it is, my day/week in a nutshell. Three-day weekend for me so that�s a bonus, plus my bosses are not going to be in Friday so that they can have a nice cushy four-day weekend. I smell an �extended� lunch in my future. Cheers!

e.

Diaryland