2004-01-14 - 10:28 a.m.


 

fixed sink

So I�m at home yesterday after work taking a breather after working out and realize that I�m super hungry and probably very protein deprived after just having torn some muscle tissue. I head to the kitchen to make the two remaining cans of tuna. At first I had to check myself because I wasn�t sure if I really wanted to submit to the ghetto-ness of draining tuna cans in the bathroom, but you gotta do what you gotta do, right? So there I am, draining the tuna, then mashing it up in some Tupperware getting ready to douse it with some mayo, dijon, and other choice tuna salad ingredients when there�s a knock on the door. Thankfully it was a workout day because on non-workout days I usually hand out in the skivvies and a t-shirt. I double-checked my legs for shorts and since they were on I checked the peep hold and realized the maintenance man was here. I wanted to yell out a little yelp of joy, but decided to just let that m other in.

He was there for 2 and one-half-hours. I had no idea it could take so long to unclog a sink. Little did I know that after unclogging the sink, he attempted to replace one of the pipe sections, which, in turn, cracked the one he attached it to. Then, when he replaced that piece of pipe, another one cracked. The chain reaction continued until finally he reached a pipe that wasn�t from the 1920s or whenever they originally installed the plumbing. He was a nice guy though and I sat at the computer talking to him for a little bit. At one point he had to call in the other maintenance man to help him fit one of the pipes on. This had me worried that something was seriously wrong with the sink. I should have made him a cocktail when he was finished, but he had already put in overtime to finish so my guess would be he just wanted to get the hell out of there.

My never-ending wrestle with microsoft power point continues today. I never want to hear the word �briefing� again. Ever.

Friday is payday and Sunday Dr. C and I are meeting up with the parents to go to Ikea in College Park, MD. A new one opened up there not too long ago and my mom says she �wants to check it out.� By �check it out� she means �I want to tell you what I think you need to buy for your apartment and if you can�t afford it right away I�ll get it for you because I think you need it that badly.� We will proceed from Ikea to go out to lunch. Mom was like �you know places to eat around there, right?� I went to school in College Park for two years and I can tell you how to get to the following:

1. The beltway to go home.

2. The foreign language building

3. Senior Parking lot

4. Denny�s

I never stuck around there much since I was living at home while going to school there. I could have cared less about what was happening on campus. They�re lucky I went there enough to actually pass my classes. I didn�t hear any demeaning conversations or one-liners on my way in here today so perhaps at lunch I can hear jabs towards the maintenance crew or cafeteria workers.

There was a huge accident yesterday near Baltimore involving like five vehicles and a four alarm fire. I�m not sure how far up the �alarm� scale goes but four-alarm sounds pretty crazy. It�s cold and I want to go home.

e.

Diaryland