2003-12-30 - 9:45 a.m.


 

butt hands II

So, yesterday I�m all bitchin about sitting on my hands while I drive, right? Well, I step on the metro to get here and then it came over me quicker than a 17 year old: I can�t sit on my hands on the metro! I noticed this when I sat down next to some stranger this morning, we�ll call him Sprinkles. So I sit next to Sprinkles and realize that normally I stand the whole way to work. I only take the train three stops and normally it�s so packed that I don�t bother taking the one vacant seat. Since it�s all kinds of empty due to the Holiday madness there is more than enough room so today I took a seat and my hands kept fidgeting. When I used to take the metro for an hour from Vienna I always got a window seat and propped my elbow on the window sill so I could hold my head and sleep. I can�t do that since it�s only a 10-minute ride, let alone in an aisle seat where if I tried doing something like that I would have had to prop myself on Sprinkles and I don�t� think we really were close enough friends for me to sleep on his arm. I crossed my arms then figured I looked retarded and uncrossed them. Then tried putting one hand over my bag, which was on my lap, and the other one on the armrest. I then decided that the hand on my bag looked too much like I was trying to play with myself and the arm on the armrest made me look like an old man. I quickly got up and stood for the rest of the ride. I probably scared Sprinkles, but that�s ok, I�m sure he�ll get over it. Sprinkles looked like he was rode hard and put away wet. A fun thing I like to do on the metro is hold tiny soap opera love stories with people on the train. I�ll notice some chick with a pissy look on her face and then find some un-expecting bastard with a grin on his face and say to myself that he just told her he was cheating on her with another man. Of course, the man of my choosing would usually be a military mother that was probably getting ready to get off the station at the Pentagon.

So the point I�m trying to make here is that I need a yoga mat, or some sort of mat that I can lie down on and lift weights with. A bench would be superb but I don�t have enough room. Hardwood floors are not the best support for when you want to do bench press-ish motions with dumbbells.

Can�t say I have much else to report. Work is slow and so are old people. I�m out.

e.

Diaryland