2003-11-17 - 9:27 a.m.


 

Should I wear my hair in a ponytail?

The Trials and Tribulations of my week:

Lemme just say that I will most likely be incommunicado for most of the week because I will once again be reprising my role of Eric: The Minute Taking Retard! Please hold all applause until the end of the week when this whole charade is behind me. Conferences are one thing but when there are also meetings I must attend that overlap, I have to put my food down. I already have to get to the meetings early to set up and staying later to take stuff down. 10-hour days are not my cup of tea, but I will get to leave at 12:00 on Friday, but what else is new?

I�m going to have to hear way too many people say �gap analysis� and use the word �absolutely� way too much. The fun part of hearing people say, �absolutely� is that in my head I immediately break into the chorus of �Absolutely Not.� Fun times Deborah, fun times.

This weekend Kristin came over for some Northern Virginia madness that resulted in picture taking and using shot glasses made from ice. I bought a bottle of Stoli from the ABC store and it had a mold in it to make shot glasses out of ice. Filling and freezing the mold were no problem. Getting those bitches out was another story. I shot one clear out of the mold onto the floor *shatter*. Another broke part way and the two that were successfully taken out were used as ice cubes after taking the shot. The concept was excellent but the material was shoddy. Thin, �gladware-esque� plastic is not the way to go for a mold. After using every bit of strength I had to push out the shot glasses, the plastic was permanently deformed, hence, the mold went into the trash. Good thing it was a free �gift.�

Conferences also mean that I need to have my laptop on me. While walking form location to location, I have my man-purse strapped around one shoulder and the laptop strapped around the other. Both items are kinda heavy so the pressure from the crisscrossing straps makes me feel like I�m either a) set to jump out an airplane or b) do something that requires me to call someone �sir.�

So, my apologies in advance for the two people that read my diary. Hopefully you will not lose hope and therefore make me the most unvisited diary in diaryland, which would be quite a blow since now I�m the second least visited. I can�t lose to Pork Tornado, I just can�t!

The world of power point presentations awaits me. I�m just excited because I finally ironed my pink dress shirt, which I have not worn in a really long time. I didn�t think I had a decent tie to go with it, but guess what America? I DO! Perhaps the pink shirt will make my boss think twice before asking me if I�m chatting with my girlfriend the next time he sees me on MSN with my sister. Dumbass. This week is all about color. No white shirts for me, and if I can avoid it, no blue shirts either. Don�t get me wrong, I love blue as much as the next girl, but on any given day the population seems to break down like this: 40% white shirts, 50% blue shirts, 10% other colors. The blue and white percentages flip flop. This especially rings true in the government world, were people tend to be even MORE conservative in the work place. I have a really bright yellow shirt and every time I wear it I might as well have I�M A LUNATIC tattooed on my forehead. People say �I like that color� and �where did you get that?� It�s a yellow shirt people, not a yellow diamond. Rediscover R.O.Y.G.B.I.V. and I�m sure you�re find that there�s more out there than blue and white.

There is my fashion advice for the week as well as my mission statement to wear color. I just shuddered at the fact that I used �mission statement� in my diary. Now you can feel free to run away and never come back again. All right, enough ramblin� for one morning. It�s time to break out the mouth harp and do a little jig before I have to set up for Conference #1.

*AIR HORN AIR HORN* SAVE ME!!!!!!!!!!!!

e.

Diaryland