2003-07-22 - 11:21 a.m.


 

-

A double espresso, an unneeded bagel, and some OJ inspire the following entry:

Monday, Monday�can�t trust that day:

It�s the Monday following my fantastical birthday weekend. I can�t say that the weekend was crazy to the point that the police should have been called, and quite frankly, I wasn�t looking for that kind of insanity. The birthday consisted of five or so friends getting together at my apartment in McLean where drinks were had, snacks were made, and everyone�s outfit needed to be approved by at least one other member of the party. Following the two-hour session of giggles and cocktails, we headed into the city to Cobalt to shake our groove thang and take over the stage. When we first arrived, not too many mothers were there since it was still a little on the early side (11:30) and most queens at that hour are still pounding drinks at a bar down the street that has all you can drink for 8 dollars. Once they started to stumble up the stairs and into the club, things started to get moving, and I was glad to hear several of my favorite songs come on back to back. I cannot get enough of the Thunderpuss remix of �Alive� by J-Lo and even though it�s a little bit older, �Treat me Right� by Kim English still gets me on the floor doing the coffee grinder, or other food related dances. I want to start a trend of naming dances after vegetables. (Hey everyone�do the Turnip!)

Once the DJ decided to deny songs that I knew and went off on some trancey madness involving sirens and such I knew it wouldn�t� be long before I would have to take my leave and call it an evening. We had only been there a couple of hours, but all ready I had achieved all the goals I set out for myself. I got free drinks, a free shot, danced on the pole, saw the rest of my friends that couldn�t make it to the house, and saw a tragic drag queen who for some reason, forgot to shave and still had a mustache. Nothing spells class like a wig, bad make-up, and unwanted facial hair. The black cat suit that was being worn did little to distract you. Tragic drag queens never used to make my list of things to see or do for the evening, but they have flocked to me in such frequency, that I have no choice but to add them to my list of �to do�s.�

This entry seems to have spilled over into Tuesday and I can�t say much has happened since I left off yesterday. I played around with my newly acquired MP3 player. To all of you out there, make sure that the battery given to you with the product does not need charging first. It could save you a lot of time and frustration. Once everything was downloaded and all was said and done, I jammed out today on the metro to my music and when I have to walk back and forth between my two office buildings I now look forward to listening to my most favorite songs. I have gone through two Discmans (discmen?). One ended in it being smashed by a weight machine, and the second fell victim to being attached to a shitty manufacturer. In any event, the MP3 player has an armband so I can just attach it to myself and not have to worry about it being smooshed. The only problem is that now I have to be extra careful that I don�t forget that I�m on the street in the middle of the day and start dancing/singing while walking.

It�s almost lunchtime and after reading this entry really quickly and realizing that I still have 4 more hours left of work, I�ll give you an insiders view of what a snapshot of my thought process is right now:

Cheers everyone�see you in the gutter.

Diaryland