2004-03-26 - 10:12 a.m.


 

I wanna go home

Last night Dr. C and I made a trek to Best Buy and Borders at Pentagon City. I had a mission. There were three CDs and a DVD I had to buy. We walk into Borders to do a little book browsing and I did a quick CD check to see if they had want I wanted. They had two of the CDs I wanted, but not the DVD. We go to Best Buy and they didn�t have any of the CDs but they did have the DVD. So, I buy the DVD and go back to Borders to pick up the two CDs that they did have which just left one CD left for purchasing which I can get over the weekend or later on today at the Best Buy that�s closer to the house. I go to pay for the CDs at Borders and I watch the following transaction(s) take place:

There is a mother at the register as I patiently wait my turn. He has a tore up duffle bag with him containing a old Super Big Glup cup with rubber bands around it, crumpled up brown napkins, probably from a public restroom, and other things I couldn�t make out. He puts an adult magazine on the counter for the woman to ring up. She rings it up and says �you�re total is 14.87� (or whatever it was) and they guy stares at her and loudly says �I CAN�T HEAR YOU.� The cashier leans in and says it again, thinking that simply by altering her proximity, the volume would magically increase. It didn�t. She said the total again and was met with another look of confusion all the while I�m trying to mentally will this bastard to look at the fucking screen to see the total. The amount was finally cleared up and he creases a twenty-dollar bill from this huge wad of cash and places it on the counter so it stands up. She takes the money, gives him his change AND THEN mother pulls out a DVD from under his arm and puts it on the counter. I then notice that he has two more DVDs under his arm and it is my guess that he will pay for each item separately. He did. The cashier didn�t see the DVD and I wanted to warn her that this ass-clown had more goodies to be put into his Borders bag hidden in his armpit. She had a look of surprise each time he pulled out another item for purchase. Each thing was purchased with a single twenty-dollar bill, creased in the center, and placed on the counter standing up. All the items, however, were put into the same bag.

I started laughing after the first two items were separately purchased and couldn�t seem to control myself. Luckily for me the mother probably couldn�t hear me.

It�s entirely too nice outside to be here so on that note, I�m going to go outside and run around the National Mall. WOO!

Awesome things overheard recently: (while walking into Best Buy, shouted by an employee accross the store "AND I WASN'T EVEN DRUNK!!!" and then this cherry, said by some woman in my office "Does anyone want to insert anything else?" I had to leave my cube after I heard that.

e.

Diaryland