2003-09-23 - 2:41 p.m.


 

gravy train

Operation Cajun Gravy:

Yesterday was Monday, right? Well, this normally doesn�t happen to me on a Monday, but I got an email from a friend of mine who said he was going to rescue another friend from his house-sitting duties. Said friend is house/dog-sitting for a co-worker. Mother is about to rip his hair out because not only does he have to deal with a yippy little dog, but he�s staying in a studio apartment with no cable and no phone. The woman does not have a phone line in her house. Who the hell does that? I suppose if you use your cell phone for all purposes, but still. He has no connection with the outside world and since he does not have a car, he takes public transport everywhere and can�t exactly just jump in his car and escape. Both friends are in the Alexandria area, while I reside in McLean, which is about a 15-20 minute drive depending on traffic and your choice of route. Since I�m going on vacation tomorrow (HOORAY!) I had to do laundry, pack, clean up, etc. I said I would be more than happy to rescue the friend and bring him over to the other friends house as long as I could do laundry while over there. This was not a problem so I packed up the dirty clothes, and headed out. I picked up Reggie (the friend in need of saving) and we both decided that since he was being saved and I was able to do laundry at our friends house, the least we could do was buy dinner, or bring something to eat from somewhere. I got on the horn and called him to see what he did or didn�t eat. We already had planned on getting a frozen pizza since that�s one of the easiest things to do. We were told that he wanted to avoid dairy. Scratch pizza off the list. We searched the stores for quick and easy solutions and then I remembered that there was a Popeyes on the way there. Let me tell you right now how much I love their cajun gravy. I could drink a glass of it. We bust in there, grab a quick 12 piece, two large orders of mashed potatoes and some biscuits and are our the door in no time. We arrive, I start laundry and we listened to some kick ass music (provided by me, thank you very much) and start a-drinkin. Reggie is fabulous at putting together furniture and since our friend had just purchased a chair from Ikea, he set to work at putting it together. Drinks were had, I finished the bottle of stoli he had...moved on to rum...then to black haus. All of the sudden...WHOOPS! It�s 11:00. Hey Eric, don�t you have work really early tomorrow and don�t you have to pack for your vacation? Jesus. So, we left the hiz-ouse, I drove Reggie back to the dog so he could walk that mother, and high-tailed it back home. Packing takes time and I�ll be damned if it wasn�t 2:00 when I finally got to bed.

That was the crappiest story every told by me...EVER. I�ll send checks out later in the day. Check your mailboxes in a few days.

You the reader are probably saying please be done, Eric. This entry sucks. Please be done.

LIKE FUN I AM...

Since I won�t be updating for the rest of the week, I might as well make this entry painful enough to make people not want to come back until next Monday when I should be able to relay fun beach stories. I purchased some blank CDs yesterday, which is not big deal, except in this package of colored CDs are YELLOW CDs. I�m talking canary yellow. That made me so happy I almost threw up. I�ll be making a yellow mix CD shortly to take on my road trip to North Carolina, believe you me.

So apparently Pork Tornado thinks it�s funny that my sister is afraid of lizards. To that I have one thing to say. Honey, get your boxing gloves on. It�s time to throw down. We can meet half-way and throw down somewhere in South or North Carolina..OR...even better, we can fight at South of the Border. Meet me by Pedro at 3:00 if you want to live to see tomorrow! I'll be all over you so fast. Cupcake is gonna make you cry tears of icing. Otherwise, I�ll be forced to take Booger captive. We�ll see how well he does trying to blend in with the color of my kitchen knives.

On a similar note, I was told last night over IM that I type too fast and it was getting �really annoying.� Well then, read faster or don�t talk to me. I don�t have time to slow down. I walk fast, I talk fast, I type fast. It�s just the way it is.

I�m addicted to QVC and HSN. As you probably have read on my sister�s diary, she wants a job there. I could watch either network for HOURS on end, specifically the jewelry specials they have and to narrow it down further, rings. I find it beyond amusing that the hosts can go on and on about one piece of ugly-ass jewelry for hours on end. They say the same shit over and over and when they run out of real things to say, they just start making stuff up. The second best part is when people call in to testify to the rings beauty because they, themselves, own it or are about to purchase it. Ultimate joy.

This afternoon I left early and before I did, I had to go run it by my boss to let him know I was going and that I wouldn�t� be able to take minutes at the Executive Meeting this afternoon and we had the following conversation:

ME: I�m heading out early so I won�t be able to take meeting minutes.

BOSS: (realizing I just came through his office door) There you are, you missed the meeting this morning.

ME: what meeting?

BOSS: The Executive Meeting.

ME: Um..isn�t that at 2:00?

BOSS: No, they changed it to 9:00

ME: No one told me, and you said yesterday that it was at 2:00!

At this point, I stopped listening to what he had to say because if it was at 9:00 then that means I could left EVEN EARLIER because the only reason I was sticking around at all was to tell him I couldn�t take minutes. JEEZ Don�t screw with my free time. I�m warning you now.

Alright. I�m outta here to re-arrange my bag and re-pack some stuff. I will be picking up a camera so that this trip can be documented. If I don�t get to eat at a Bojangle�s then I�m not going.

e. (be on the look out for beach photos...SCARY)

Diaryland