2003-09-22 - 9:22 a.m.


 

mondays crap

L-A-M-E, I ain�t got no alibi, I�m lame, uh huh�I�m lame.

All right, so the hurricane pretty much kept me out of the diary loop for a little while, but suffice to say, here I am�ROCK YOU LIKE A HURRICANE! (or is it rockin� like a hurricane? I never get it right�DAMNIT�once again, I�m lame)

The weekend offered various fun and exciting activities, the apex of it all being a trip to Baltimore for a Comic Book convention with Dr. C. Not being a comic book fan, I can safely say that it was still worth the 15-dollar entry fee (which I did not have to pay since Dr. C feels bad dragging me to these things, so he footed the bill). It was held at the Baltimore Convention center, which is a pretty large place and this convention runs several days and draws quite a crowd. By crowd I mean it draws the sort that enjoy dressing up as the characters and then talking to people endlessly about the minutest details. I can make fun of them to an extent, but I have to admire the passion that these folks have for things. They put a lot of thought and energy into it�however that does not absolve them from my laughter. I saw someone dressed as Wonder Woman (who really, really shouldn�t have been) and someone dressed as Green Lantern. My favorite booth at the convention had to be the one selling medieval weaponry. Nothing like buying a comic, an action figure, and on your way out, picking up that much needed mace.

The hurricane managed to knock out the power in my apartment until 3:00 Sunday afternoon. I stayed at Dr. C�s house since he had power, however he was under the whole water restriction thing. Instead of boiling water we just bought an ass-ton of bottled water and carried on with that.

After a quiet minute of reflection just now, I realized that this has been one of the most boring weekends possible. The only bonus of the hurricane was the government being closed on Thursday and Friday which means that I did not have to show up for work, however I had my laptop with me so I was able to �work at home� for several hours.

Actually, that�s not true, on Thursday, the clients that were in town for the conferences decided to still have an impromptu meeting at the Ritz Carlton, which is where they were all staying. I got there at 9:00 after trying to find an open entrance into the garage. The hotel is attached to the mall and since I didn�t feel like valet-ing these mothers, I decided to park in the mall garage, however since the stores do not open until 10:00, the entrances are blocked off. I had to be super spy-tech and maneuver around them. I eventually got in, parked, and went to meet these mo�s in the lobby. They didn�t have a room or anything to set up, so I was sent to the business center to scope things out. Well, of course there was some huge conference going on complete with nametag tables and such.

I found an empty room and went to work rearranging things, stealing chairs from other rooms, and otherwise being a good little consultant. By the time everyone was rounded up in the room and things were starting to settle down, they decided it would be best to go to the grocery store and get provisions for the hurricane. At this point in time, I had been there for almost two hours running around getting this crap all set up. The mall stores were starting to close and I informed them that my car was in the mall garage. They said the following:

�Oh, well, why don�t you just stay here? We�re going to work all day, so you can just stay in the room with blah blah blah. Safety first, right?�

Ok honey, 1) this mother is NOT working all day with you jackasses when the federal government is closed 2) I am NOT staying in a hotel room with strangers and 3) I am only a couple miles down the road. I have my laptop with me so I�ll type up what you need from there and email it to you.

That seemed fine with them so I was outta there before they could even blink.

Luckily for me, I only have to work two days this week and then I�m off to the beach in North Carolina to max and relax these mothers. FUN. Sorry for the craptacular entry. Hopefully things will improve over the course of the day and I�ll have something to write that�s actually worth reading.

My MP3 player is dead�no music for Eric on the metro�or on his walk from building to building. This makes me sad�and angry. If I have to throw down 100 dollars or so for another form of musical entertainment, I�ll be REALLY�REALLY pissed.

Random thought on the metro this morning (since I had no music to entertain me):

If I made it big and had a CD, I would like the title to be �Throat Cancer.�

e.

Diaryland