2004-03-03 - 10:30 a.m.


 

wednesday hoopla

I believe that the new wave of displaying your political correctness will be to revert back to using racial slurs in public. Things tend to come full circle so I figure what better way to show you�re not a racist by calling someone from China a chink? I mean, seriously. Say it with a smile though or people might get angry.

This thought reminded me of the time back in the antonym, synonym, and homonym craze of �88 (a.k.a. when I was in the 3rd grade). It was a happy time when books were still read out loud to the class and winter temperature only got down to the 60s because we lived in the southwestern tip of the United States. I can�t remember what exactly the title of the book was, what I do remember was that it had many pictures and followed the life of a little girl overhearing phrases being said by her teachers, parents, and strangers. There would be a word in the sentence she would misinterpret thus resulting in an amusing sketch and me wondering how she was that stupid. The fun thing was that remember some of the sentences, I can�t imagine they would ever let it fly today. There were a couple of instances when I understood that she had misunderstood, however I wasn�t sure what the true meaning of the word was supposed to be. Thankfully I have a memory like a camel. The one that puzzled me for the longest time was this:

�Daddy says W.A.S.P.s like to play tennis.� The picture included the insects dressed in tennis whites hitting the ball back and forth to each other. I�m not sure what the class was supposed to make of this and I seriously doubt that any of the children got it. I can�t remember if the teacher laughed at that one or not, my guess would be she did.

My other favorite was this:

�Daddy�s beer has a head of foam on it.� The image was of a beer mug with foam at the top, which of course, was shaped like a head/face.

It seemed Daddy was the catalyst for many of these understandings, and liked to teach his children early about stereotyping religious groups as well as alcoholic vocabulary.

I�m sitting by the phone waiting for it to ring and hear someone on the other end say, �remember that interview yesterday? Well, we loved you so much we will pay double what you wanted and you only have to work 10 hours a week�. from home.�

e.

Diaryland