2004-11-29 - 10:29 p.m.


 

A Wedge driving the family closer together.

I have one thing to say:

LOOK....AT...THIS:

In all honesty I think it�s the best picture I�ve ever taken in my life. More than 1,000 words come to mind when I see it however the ones that keep popping up again and again are teeth, special, and cake.

Remember in science class how we all learned about the seven simple tools? Here we see two of them...the wedge and Eric.

The story of this picture begins at noon on Thanksgiving. Our family begins pounding the sauce in the form of kir royale. You can�t hate champagne and you really can�t hate drinking that early. As you can probably gather from the photo, that�s my father, mother, and Eric the monkey child in the picture. Why such a fantastic expression you ask? I�ll tell you. Ever since the purchase of the digicam at the household, Kristin and I have taken it upon ourselves to document family time. We were trying to get some ok pictures of the family making dinner, dorking around with the turkey, and acting like the general nimrods that we all know and love. This particular gem began with Kristin asking us to get together so that we had a picture of me with the parents. My mom gets in the middle and my Dad and I are on the sides. The countdown to insanity began at 3.

Upon hearing �2" I feel that my mother is trying to tuck the tag in on my pants (or so I thought). This at first struck me as rather odd, but then I thought she was doing the motherly thing by tucking in my fag tag (oh the irony). Speaking of which, are fag tags only on shirts or can pants have them too? I�ve only ever known a fag tag to be a shirt thing, but what do I know. �One� is said and my mother, with reckless abandon, grabs my underwear and my fathers underwear. She then proceeds to pull up with all her might. Mom begins laughing hysterically, my Dad is completely un-phased by this as I�m sure he�s used to this kind of abuse given the fact that he�s been married to her for something like 30 years, and I, well, I guess you can pretty much read what I was thinking by having a gander at my face. I should have known better. I should have known not to trust that woman after a couple of glasses of champagne and a tool that would be able to document the occasion forever and ever amen. I�ll get her yet...

Ok, so I had more than one thing to say but I mean...look at that shit. That doesn�t just happen everyday. It takes a day like Thanksgiving. I came, I saw, I drank, I cried.


This work week has offered up the same kind of relentless insanity that last week did. I know have a new expression to turn to though, when my day is getting me down. I�ll strike the pose above and hope for the best. Try to do the same...wedgie not included.

e.

Diaryland