2004-10-06 - 11:34 a.m.


 

ERIC ON:

ERIC ON:
His travels getting to Europe:
If you have to change planes in London and it says that your carrier is Luftansa, make sure that it�s not really a flight on BMI airlines. I�m not saying that happened to me, all I�m saying is that I had 45 minutes to run as fast as I could through Heathrow airport like a motherfucking maniac after getting to what I thought was my gate 5 minutes before the plane took off only to hear �oh I�m sorry, your flight is actually on BMI�see we�re all part of the Star Alliance which includes United, Luftansa, BMI, and a few other carriers. You need to haul your stupid American ass to the other terminal. I hear there are a lot of fat people on that airline that will most likely sit in front of you and lean back the whole way. Have a nice fucking flight.�
Charles de Gaulle Airport:
What�s fun about this airport is waiting at the baggage claim for your stuff and having it not arrive. Then what�s super fun is going to the airline counter and inquiring about it and having them want to speak Dutch to you. Thanks but no thanks. My luggage was not as spry as I was making the connection so I get to have them delivered to my hotel. One would think that would go off without a hitch. Funny thing for me is that the one reservation I didn�t have on me was my hotel. This meant that not only did I not have the address to give to the airline, I didn�t have the address so I could deliver myself to the hotel and check in. Cut to Eric almost breaking down after being awake for 36 hours straight.
Paris as a whole:
Go when it�s not tourist season. Everyone says this for a reason. Although some parts of Paris (i.e. the Louis Vuitton store) felt like little Tokyo for the most part the crowds were more than manageable and I was asked directions by French people everywhere which I found flattering and confusing at the same time. They were probably equally as confused when I was not as helpful as they had hoped.
The South of France:
When you go during somewhat peak season this is who you�ll find at the train station: Middle aged American women who have just read A Year in Provence or just seen �Under the Tuscan Sun� and their husbands who were forced to pay for the trip and then actually go with them. The only other life down there is rich Parisians there for the weekend. Needless to say I stuck out like a sore thumb and once again was asked for directions. Since I didn�t fit the rest of the crowd the only other possible reason for me being there must have been because I was local.
London:
Bring your wallets kids. The ATM will be your best friend and if you and are going alone, women will have an easier time than men as they can at least offer up a child as a form of payment. Riding the tube is a loud thing to do. Not only that but it seems that whoever planned the seating arrangements were not planning on having a shit load of passengers. Someone needs to review those schematics.
Cleveland:
Whoa.
Bravo�s new show Manhunt:
After reviewing profiles online I can say that I�ve seen better looking people at a Leper colony on Halloween. Sorry boys.
e.

Diaryland