2004-03-31 - 10:08 a.m.


 

Racist Bullshit at the DMV

Ok, so when Eric goes to the DMV fun things happen. A couple of weeks ago I�m driving my car and notice the vanity plates on the mother in front of me. Rather than be particularly amused by the plate, my focus turned to the stickers and then I had a flashback to when I was at the DMV earlier in the month. Funny how I didn�t register my car because I had to do other fun things to it like emissions inspection. I saw another trip to the wonderful Department of Motor Vehicles in my future. Here�s what happened:

Eric walks in, gets his paperwork and number and sits down. I realize that my emissions thing is still out in my car and will need it to prove that I�m worthy to have my car in Virginia for another year. I figure I also may need proof that I had the safety inspection. I run out to my car, get the necessary crap and return. I notice that I�m B142...and they�re calling B136. The B�s seem to be the least popular of the letters to be called since there are 12 windows and most are serving those with numbers starting with �E� (because E is a number).

I notice an irate woman coming back from one of the service windows. Normally, this would not have struck me as unusual as the DMV seems to be teeming with irritated mothers. This mother was more than irritated. She was yelling. Apparently, there had been some sort of argument at the counter and this woman�s son�s paperwork was not processed. Thankfully, I had a ring side seat as they were all sitting no more than 10 feet from me. Even if they weren�t that close, the woman�s voice carried and it seemed like she was more than happy to have the attention of everyone in the waiting area. I did a quick scan of the whole scene and everyone�s head was turned in her direction.

Queue the spotlight.

Angry Mother: *walking towards the group of mothers she came with, pushing her stroller, and waving her papers* �WHY is it that they can process my paperwork but they can�t process my SON�s paperwork? Because he�s a BLACK....MALE!?!??! This is some State of Virginia racist BUUUUUUUUUUULSHIT.

I wanted to step in and let her know that they actually refer to it as the Commonwealth of Virginia, but I figure it was best to step back and let her go, especially being the cracker that I am. I was not in the mood to get into a razor fight. I wasn�t wearing the right shoes/clothes, etc. Then the comments got louder...and better.

Angry Mother: �THAT woman at the counter was talking about my finger was all up in her face...MY FINGER WAS NOT ALL UP IN HER FACE!!!�

It was at this moment that the guards/rent-a-cops started to wonder over, pulling her aside to talk in the corner. Thankfully for us, the woman didn�t feel like being discrete. She felt like being ignorant. I couldn�t hear what the cops said but I did hear what she had to say.

Angry Mother: �I WANT THAT WOMAN�S PHONE NUMBER...AND HER SUPERVISORS PHONE NUMBER�

Cops: *blah blah blah*

Angry Mother: � NO, you just don�t want to GIVE ME her number, I KNOW SHE�S sitting back there right now, and you�re trying to tell me she doesn�t have a PHONE? THIS IS SOME GODDAMN RACIST VIRGINIA BULLSHIT...RACIST MOTHEFUCKERS!!!�

The cop she was talking to was black and about half the patrons at the DMV were black, receiving their licences, having their paperwork processed and in general having a fine time of it minus waiting to get in line and that had just been resolved by having a free show. She left after they gave her a number of some sort so she would shut up and hopefully leave.

I get up to the counter after the show and I think the woman at the counter wasn�t in the mood to deal with any customers whatsoever. I was up there for maybe 2 minutes. She took my old registration, processed it, I paid without having to show anything else and then I got my stickers and I was outta there. A quick exit, new stickers so I wouldn�t get pulled over, and a woman doing her best �I�m on Ricki Lake and I�m going to be loud because everyone is racist� impression. Flawless.

e.

Diaryland