2004-03-18 - 10:20 a.m.


 

ONE FISH, TWO FISH...DEAD FISH, NEW FISH

Yesterday was something of a blur. I got into the office, began typing up the minutes from Wednesday�s meeting and realized that the boss man hadn�t come over to annoy me in his usual fashion. I didn�t see him for the entire day. His door was shut and the lights were out. Let�s hope that trend continues today.

I got a call yesterday at 12:45ish from my friend saying he was on his way to Pentagon City and to meet him there for lunch. Not one to shy down from offers such as this, I made a b-line for the metro. We went to Best Buy first to see if he could get his RPG hands on a copy of Final Fantasy XI. We ask a blue shirt and they fiddle around, say they�re going to come back and then probably got distracted by something shiny because he never returned. He looked like he didn�t even know he was supposed to be there. We go up to customer service to ask. It turns out it won�t be in stores until 3/23, possibly 3/25. While they were looking it up, one of the girls remarked at how insanely expensive the game was. The other customer service rep looked at us and said �this from the woman who has a seven-year-old son with his own cell phone.� The accused then looked up at us and said quite matter-of-factly, �He�s my baby.�

During the walk to the food court we tried to figure out who this seven-year-old is gonna call besides his mother. My friend said that seven-year-olds have a hard enough time with remembering their own phone number, let alone a cell phone, plus everyone else. I figured that everything was probably one-touch dialing and most likely thinks his mothers phone number is 2. He took it one step further and said it was voice activated and thinks her number is �momma.� A seven-year-old with a cell phone. Come on people. COME.ON.

My Dad dropped off my sunglasses at my desk yesterday along with a book purchased by Kristin but not yet read. It�s Augusten Burroughs� Dry. I�d like to say right now that I�m almost done and I haven�t even had it for 24 hours. It�s that good. His description in the beginning of going to rehab and the events that led up to his check-in made me want a gisbon.

Before going home yesterday, I received a request by one of my least favorite people besides my boss. I was asked to produce both hard and soft copies of charts I did last summer. The charts are in a program that he does not have on his machine and when I saw him in the hallway I wanted to verify we were talking about the same charts. They said yes and that if I could �find a �spare� copy of the software �just lying around� he�d appreciate it.� He then gave me a wink that only a used car salesman can produce. Sleazy. Luckily for him, I not only did the charts in the specific software, I also saved all of them as jpegs and pasted them into word, knowing good and well that some people wouldn�t have the software. I need to be paid more�I really, really do.

I went running yesterday after lifting weights and I�m thinking about running again tonight because I�m that crazy. I�m sore, I�m tired, and I enjoy it.

Random thought of the day/week/whatever:

Does anyone remember how in the latter stages of �Designing Women� when Jan Hook�s character said that she wanted a theme song for her life? One that would play as she was getting ready for work in the morning and possibly follow her out to her car? Do you also remember that she then sang the song that she wanted�and that the song was also the theme to �Just the 10 of us?� I can�t remember if the shows were on the same network or not because when I heard her sing it, I immediately recognized it as the theme song and wondered if they were going to get in trouble for using it. I do remember some of the lyrics to the song and that bothers me. My mind then went on a tangent of how in one of the episodes of �Just the 10 of Us,� they went on a trip to the Virgin Islands and how much I would like to go on vacation. If someone would like to fund my vacation, please let me know.

The new fish that I may or may not have mentioned before had babies. This made me laugh, as Dr. C specifically wanted all females so this wouldn�t happen. One male found it�s way into the plastic bag and into the tank. We think that they were pregnant before being purchased. I don�t know the gestation period for these certain fish so how the hell would I know. In addition to the tiny little mothers swimming around, one of the stupid fish died. Stupid fish. And the circle of life keeps on rotating�like clockwork.

e.

Diaryland