2004-03-08 - 10:32 a.m.


 

:-(

In my wildest dreams, I never thought that I could be as lazy as I was on Sunday. I just didn�t think my body would allow it. I think it�s safe to say that your body can always surprise you. Sunday however, was the end of the weekend so I guess I should rewind and start from the beginning.

Friday was a �good times had by all� evening which began with Kristin coming down from Annapolis after visiting her friends at Meineke for car service. Apparently it no longer sounds like a backhoe when she�s on the highway. It was a night of drinking and dancing in which everyone (as far as I knew) had an awesome time. The music was killer although I could have done without hearing the Milkshake song on three separate occasions, once on the dance floor and twice in a video bar.

Before even heading out into the city on Friday Kristin and I had to go pick up a friend from work. While waiting there in the car near the metro station, this mother is frantically walking down the sidewalk, head down, talking to himself and then would look up, put his hand on his forehead and then do sort of a karate chop motion with his hand. His hair looked like it was trying to run away from his head serpentine style.

ME (to Kristin): Girl, I think that mother�s crazy.

Kristin *watching him for a second*: Nah, he�s good.

It reminded me of the time I was at Waffle House at 3:30am and this mother suddenly got up from his booth and started facing east and praying Mecca-style. Doesn�t that usually require a mat? In any event, he was blocking the entire walkway and you couldn�t get to the bathroom. I guess he was trying to give thanks to his pecan waffle and smothered and covered hash browns.

On Saturday and Sunday my body was knockin� on the door to my brain saying �hey, you know what? I think we�ve been seriously deprived of sleep lately so just so you know, every opportunity that you�re not in motion we�re going to do all we can to fall asleep. Thanks for understanding.� My body was not kidding. I can�t tell you how many times I did a magical tap dance while lying down. During my drift-off time I would daydream I was having conversations with Dr. C and then upon waking up would attempt to continue the conversation. He would either be asleep himself or be very confused as to what the hell I was talking about. That�s always fun. I applied all my strength and actually got up to put a jacket on and drove to 7-11 (about 6 blocks away) for a Sunday paper.

This morning left me irritated as not only did I have to come into work this morning, but I had to deal with Suzanne Somers on the Today Show with her chartreuse silk shirt/tie combo. It was a mess and a half. Now I�m all hungry and I keep thinking about Ms. Somers with her talk of menopause and sex drive. One word: no.

e.

Diaryland