2004-02-09 - 9:33 a.m.


 

i hate friday

Ladies and Gentlemen, this mother is still wicked tired from Friday. Friday was quite possibly the greatest test of my sanity, agility, and willpower. It took everything I had not to have something like this rush ordered so I could turn my bosses face in to ground chuck.

Fridays are supposed to be fun. It�s the last day of the week before the weekend and normally not much is expected as so many federal employees have Friday off. Instead of a laid back day of emails, instant messaging, and lunch, I got a day full of power point corrections, lectures, and wet socks. There is a major presentation coming up to one of the big executives the Tuesday following Presidents Day. That gives all this week to put it together, however since everyone and their mom, to include my boss, is going down to Florida for some FAA pow-wow. This means that Friday was the only day we had to do the entire thing.

Rather than give every minute detail of what happened, the basic gist of it was Eric running around doing secretarial things not involving the presentation like finding charge numbers and trying to remember when my boss was here because apparently he relies on me to give him this information. The beauty part of that is that I�m a contractor, not a government employee like he is so I have no clue what they charge, let alone when he was here.

I get back from a smoke break to find him rummaging through my desk and writing on stuff. Before I had a chance to get saucy with him for commandeering my desk, he yells at me for smoking. The cherry on the cake of the day is when he came in to my cube and proceeded to cut the cheese, laugh about it, stink up my cube and then reach for my scarf and said he needed to �wipe his ass after that.� Your government dollars at work ladies and germs. I was so ready to kill by the end of the day.

The weather was particularly beautiful what with the steady rain and ice that was going on. I essentially swam/ice skated home. The puddles were deceiving and my socks were soon soaked along with my pants from the knee down. I step in puddles and almost fall on my ass. My CD player will shut down if it�s in the cold for too long so I have to keep it in my pocket and rest my hand on top of it so it can get some heat. My other hand was holding the umbrella so I had no free hands with which to smoke. I light a cigarette (magically) and have to hold it in my mouth the whole time, which gives me a very construction worker look, minus the outfit. I go to spit out my cigarette and it has managed to seal itself to my lower lip so my spit attempt caused it to flip up and hit me in the cheek and then it just continued to dangle. Rather than temp fate and a facial burn, I had to remove it by hand.

I finally got home and was quite satisfied to have the week over and know that I won�t see the gopher until the 17th. This means Eric is unsupervised for the entire week. I have some meetings scattered throughout the week, one of which I just found out was today from 1-3. Color me unexcited and annoyed that I cannot leave when I thought I was going to.

I had a voicemail on my phone this morning from the gopher before he took off for Jacksonville. He gave me corrections to make to the presentation, which I did and then told me to call his cell phone with any problems. Unfortunately for him, he failed to leave me the number. Jackass. I seriously wish I had funny things to say, but this is more of a rant entry then anything else. So I ranted. Big deal.

e.

Diaryland