2004-01-13 - 8:35 a.m.


 

don't want to be here

Yesterday I left a voicemail for my boss saying that if he needed me before lunch I would be at my other building and to give me a call. Not hearing anything from him, I proceeded to the federal building after lunchtime and knocked on the door and was greeted by him saying, �I really could have used you earlier today.� Do you check your messages? Jesus. I was told to be here today promptly at 8:00 so that we could meet about what he needs me to do. I show up here at 8:00 and he�s not in his office. I check his calendar and see that he has a meeting until 9:00. Smart move. Before I even got to the floor I step in the elevator with two random mothers, one happy go lucky, the other not wanting to be there and I was there to enjoy their conversation which went a little something like this:

HGL (Happy Go Lucky)

CFW (Crusty Federal Worker)

CFW gets on the elevator with two huge clear trash bags full of packing peanuts.

HGL: So, you�re packing something? *Chuckles to himself* It�s amazing what they can do with Styrofoam.

CFW: (replies crustily, obviously) They�re 98% air.

*Dramatic pause*

CFW: Like most of the women I talk to.

HGL proceeds to get off the elevator and CFW has kept the same look of disdain on his face the whole time. Luckily I only had to ride up one more floor. �Like most women I talk to.� Jesus. I don�t think I could want to be here any less than I do right now, except for the fact that I�m still here, which I suppose is due to the fact that I probably need to get paid. After the motivation of not being evicted, nothing is really keeping me in this crappy government chair. I could always temp again and turn into one of those scary 50 year old temps who has to work with 18 year olds after their first year of college. Whatever.

The kitchen sink has decided to be cute and get all stopped up like a man who just drank a bottle of Imodium AD. I attemped to liquid plumr these mothers yesterday when I got home but instead the water just sat there and since you're supposed to run hot water after the shit soaks in, the water level in the sink was raised instead of drained. I now have to rinse out my cereal bowl in the bathroom along with any other dishes from dinner, etc. Label me ghetto. Another bonus is that after making fries last night, one of them dropped into the sink full of water and I didn't want to put my hand in there since there's all kinds of hazmat in there from the liquid plumr. Instead, I just left it there so now there's a nicely sized steak fry marinating in there. I think it adds a certain Je ne sais quoi.

e.

Diaryland