2004-01-07 - 11:58 a.m.


 

BLIMEY!

The words of the day are cold and sore. Not the kind of sore that would warrant the use of Abreva, but the kind when you wake up after working out for the first time in over a month and realizing that raising one of your arms over your head causes tremendous pain. I had a conference in the shower with my arms and chest and asked them what I had done to spite them. They didn�t seem to want to discuss it at such an early hour in the morning so I figure by the time I get home they�ll be ready to talk. I�m giving them a day off today but they will be subject to more weight lifting punishment tomorrow afternoon. The purchase of my new workout mat is paying off. I�ll be damned if I was going to lie on the hardwood floor and try to do some exercise.

Back in the day, say a few months ago, I was obsessed with the Cirque du Soliel show Varekai!. Well, the new obsession is now Allegria. Bravo did a �New Years Eve with Cirque� thing and showed most of the shows that have been touring. I hadn�t seen Allegria yet and new that there was a �fast track� act in the show. A fast track is essentially a trampoline that is about four feet wide and fifty or so feet long so you can tumble on it/off of it. It provides all kinds of spring but since the trampoline bed is so tight you can still tumble on it without bouncing yourself into orbit. I used to kick some serious ass back in the day on the fast track and I was curious as to what sort of skills they would do and how they would be presented. I was pleased to see that there were only two skills that were performed at the very end of the act that I was not able to do, and some crazy Russian mothers performed those two skills. This immediately sparked the idea that I should apply to be in the show (insert Eric going crazy here). Not actually having been on a fast track in like 5 years or so probably means that I have some catching up to do and my muscle memory is probably shot to hell, besides the fact that I�ve probably grown 4 inches since then and would stick out like a sore thumb. Needless to say this is merely a crazy fantasy that I would tour with the Circus of the Sun. Still though, it�s fun to think about and the idea of performing for a living gets me way too excited and makes me want to walk out of this god forsaken government building forever.

So, Kristin seems to have all kinds of plans before her trip to London. I would like to add that her acrylic nails were something of pure beauty. When she asked for the rhinestone on her finger the mother totally didn�t understand so they had to bring over the receptionist/translator to the table to say that she wanted a �crystal� on her finger. A crystal. Thanks to digital cable, I get BBC so I can watch the BBC news and see what kind of trouble she�s in before it reaches the states.

I had way too much espresso today and didn�t have much work to occupy myself so now I�ve been reduced to typing faster than a stenographer in a court room, except what I�m transcribing is a bunch of crap. I also managed to do some damage to the ozone layer the other day when, upon arriving home from work, I decided I was hungry and the best way to cure myself of it was to eat more than half a bag of raw broccoli florets. Good idea Eric! Next time, follow that up with a whole bunch of coffee, a Hershey bar, and an apple. Then we�ll see whose boss of the bathroom. I could send smoke signals.

Apart from that, the work here sucks so it�s situation normal. Quick words of wisdom from my boss:

The Gopher = My boss

Me = Me

The Gopher (upon looking at my hourly rate as a contractor): Wow, you�re cheat at � the price.

Me: ��.

Half. The. Price. Someone rescue me in a pink Cadillac�cause we�re going ridin on a freeeeeeeway of love in a pink Cadillac!

e.

Diaryland