2003-12-10 - 1:31 p.m.


 

i'm black

I saw the coolest thing on my way into the office this morning. I get off at my normal metro stop and proceed to exit this mother. I get to the escalators and notice that only the far right escalator is going up. There are three all in a line and usually during rush hour in the morning the middle one and the right one go up and the other one goes down. Well, I see everyone getting on the escalator to the right so I follow suit and soon realize why. One mother didn�t realize this change in direction and bitch stepped onto the escalator going down. Bitch took one step and all of the sudden was thrust backwards and I believe I was the only one who was actually laughing out loud. It made my morning.

I had a telecon to attend and take minutes at. Lemme just say that this is a weekly telecon and the same shit is said EVERY TIME. Next week I�m going to send out the minutes and say �here is what will be said. I can read your mind.�

My new favorite thing, now that I have digital cable, is to watch the Mexican channels. It doesn�t matter if it �s game shows or the news. I watched it for a solid hour yesterday. Dr. C came home and I was sitting on the couch, concentrating on the television. I figure if I watch it long enough I�ll pick up some vocab. No better way to learn than through emersion. Later that evening, while channel surfing, I ran across some Russian-American program that was news-like in structure, but they had this guitar player on who was playing some ditties on his strings and then the newswoman-ish sort of person started singing along. I could not have been happier. I pray for a Japanese or Chinese show as well. Here�s to hoping.

Hope you enjoy the new layout. Many thanks to OZ. It may at first seem like I�m a black woman with a diary whereas in reality, I�m a black woman trapped in a gay mans body. Go figure. I guess I need to renew that subscription I had to �Essence� and my personal favorite �Blacktress.� Of course, how many times can I honestly read about Halle Berry, Vivica Fox, and Jada Pinkett-Smith?

e.

Diaryland