2003-11-11 - 9:29 a.m.


 

Vet Day

Oh me oh my.

Many things have come to pass since my last entry on Thursday. I left on Thursday for more fun moving from McLean down to Alexandria and Friday proved to be more of the same although I made two trips Friday, one for random shit, and the other one Dr. C and I went to load my computer desk/computer into his car. Mother has much more cargo room than I do and both of his back seats fold down.

The trips to clean out the apartment were amusing because instead of waiting for help I thought it would be a good idea to toss out some of the bulkier things I was getting rid of like my bed. Taking it apart was no problem but me having to wrestle with it by myself trying to go downstairs was something. The mattress kept knocking me into the railing and/or the stairs. The box spring, though not as pliable as the mattress, was lighter which worked to my advantage as far as carrying it. Lighter, however, does not always mean easier. Every time I got to a landing on the stairs I would always lose momentum when I would get stuck in a corner. I kept trying to move, but the box spring was going nowhere. There would be a little bit of a reverb causing me to back into the railing. Once the mattress and box spring were safely tossed like discus� into the dumpster all that was left were things for Dr. C and I to carry together. No injuries occurred there and the dresser and computer desk weren�t as sassy as the mattress and box spring. They apparently still had some life in them and were not afraid to try and show me who was boss.

Tired from Friday�s craziness, Saturday was one more trip to McLean for my dresser and then we headed out to a friends housewarming party. Dr. C, myself, and another friend of ours formed the trifecta key of humor. We were the original Queens of Comedy. The clique we formed caused much laughter among us and everyone who walked by wanted to be our friend, like I knew that wasn�t going to happen?

Some of my favorite quotes/moments of the party:

Me: I hate white people (said to my friend, who is black)

Friend of mine: Polly is a cracker! (Said while wearing a foam parrot/hat type thing)

Me: You know all y�all look alike. (Said to my friend after a drunken mother called my friend by another friends name, both of who happen to be black. They were also the only two black mothers at the party)

Me: You�re pissing me off. (Said to the same drunk mother who confused my two black friends� names after he asked me to so smoke with a heavy faux lisp)

Me: You look like shit. (Said after a friend of mine asked if I liked his new outfit)

As you can tell by the quotes, I was feeling very, very sassy and we closed the party down.

Sunday was a day to be lazy, which was much needed after all the moving crap. Monday I went back to McLean for the final time to clean up and take out the rest of the trash. I had a few problems getting to the chairs on the deck because upon opening the door, I tried to walk out forgetting that the screen was up. I was stopped suddenly and bounced back like I had just hit a trampoline. Poor cupcake.

It�s all good because I turned my keys in and now I have no further obligation to go to McLean. HOORAY! Now, it�s all about the move Thanksgiving weekend. The building we are moving into is one block away so we�ll have to pile stuff into a moving van and then drive one block, stop, and unload. Volunteers are needed so if you�ll be in the Northern Virginia area and would like to help these mothers move, lemme know.

It�s a Federal Holiday today and I had the option of staying home or coming into work. I drove into he city because street parking is free and I got to listen to music, take my travel coffee mug and parked right next to my building. I don�t think I�m going to last too long so at lunchtime I�m going to hop back in the silver bullet (a.k.a. my Civic) and head back. It�s flawless because tomorrow will be Wednesday and the week will almost be over. Next week I have to attend conferences everyday from 8-5 but I have to be there even earlier to set up. Joy. Time for me to enjoy the rest of my day doing nothing but IM-ing at my desk. *AIR HORN* Federal Holiday�s ROCK!!!!!!

e.

Diaryland