2003-10-29 - 9:58 a.m.


 

drag race

OK, last night was spent sanding in the rain, halfway covered by an umbrella, getting soaking wet, and watching drag queens race down 17th street in high heels. It was once again time for the annual High Heel Race. Last year the weather was wet and crappy and yesterday was no exception. It was said on the news prior to leaving for the city that the rain would only be covering parts of Southern Maryland. They lied.

17th street was a packed house and because I�m a retard, we drove into the city. Parking is never a fun task around there unless you�re there at some bizarre hour. If you�re there during some major event then say "hello" to 45 minutes of driving around. I got rock star parking one block away from the race. That was pretty much the highlight for me.

It was rainy, it was cold, it was packed. The mothers run a total of two blocks which takes all of 20 seconds maybe. The reason for going is the taunting and parading around that happens for the hour prior to the race. Since they only have two blocks to work with, picture 1000�s of people crammed up against one another in only two short blocks. It�s not cute, especially when you�re slammed up against a bunch of squealing queens with umbrellas. I almost lost my eye three times due to umbrella ignorance.

After the race was over 17th street suddenly turned into a madhouse as everyone rushes the street when it�s over like it�s the end of a college football game to run and talk to the contestants. The other fun thing is when you�re trying to walk in the street and 10 people suddenly recognize each other and form a circle in the middle of the street and you can�t get by. It�s even better when they all have umbrellas and when you try to move around them, you get hit when them.

The plan was to go to Cobalt afterwards for Retro night, but the line was way too long and I was way too wet to enjoy myself so I had cocktails at home instead. Cheaper that way anyway.

Today I am the most color coordinated queen in the entire district. I�m wearing my monochromatic communist ensemble and I just realized that the light blue stripes in my tie perfectly match my messenger bag. I noticed this on the metro and it made me smile�because I�m gay like that.

Today I�m getting a ride to Annapolis with my Dad to spend the evening with the family. Haven�t seen those mo�s (mother�s) in a while and it�s time for Kristin and I to annoy Mom and Dad. They always fear us being in the same room together as the hilarity ensues and never stops. What we need is a video camera to capture it. (Note to self: get video camera)

This morning as I was getting off the metro there was a British family right behind me. They inquired as to where a certain museum was and I pointed them in the right direction. They said �Cheers! Thanks a lot.� It made my morning, even more so then my flawless coordination discovery. I love accents like I don�t even know what and it inspired the following conversation with Kitten:

Cupcake: this British family got off the metro this morning and asked where some musuem was, I pointed in the general direction of the mall and they said, "cheers thanks a lot!"

Kitten: HAHAHHA.

Kitten: cheers!

Cupcake: I know

Kitten: "yeah, it's prolly that way."

Cupcake: me: =-O

Cupcake: I wanted to follow them around and listen to them talk

Kitten: true.

Kitten: how they do

Kitten: he-eeeeeeeeeeeeeeey, British mo�s.

Cupcake: "sex-cuse me, but I just wanted to be your shadow today"

Kitten: c'mere.

Cupcake: "thanks"

Kitten: just be all: :-) yeah, I�ll be here if you need me. Otherwise, pretend I�m not even here.

Cupcake: right

Cupcake: feel free to ask questions, directions, etc.

Cupcake: I�ll go get some tea, stay right there

Kitten: hmm hmm hmmm...

Kitten: lalallallaalala

Kitten: man, that is soso part of the reason that Jamie Oliver makes me BONKERS.

Bonkers. Remember bonkers? Fun times.

I�m starving because I had zero breakfast this morning. I had a cup of coffee before heading into work and now that I�m here, I�ve had a double espresso. This does not look good. I�ll probably get a lot done though. Too bad no one has given me anything to do yet. I suppose I can amuse myself by singing Cher�s Dark Lady or something of the like. *CLAP CLAP*

*AIR HORN* I�M HUNGRY!!!!!!!!!!!!

e.

Diaryland