2003-10-21 - 9:15 a.m.


 

i hate mclean

Man oh man, what a weekend. Actually nothing exciting happened, but I thought I would at least try to get your attention for a second. Feel free to read elsewhere now if you want to.

Basically the weekend was all about being low-key and my roommate moved out on Thursday, as I had previously stated in another entry. I came home on Monday to an empty apartment again and I have to say that it�s quite bizarre. It�s like someone came in and stole everything except what was in my room. I apparently have no valuables. I forgot to take into account that when he moved out, he would probably be taking all of his kitchen stuff to include utensils. I was all ready to make myself some nachos when I discovered that I had no kitchen shears to cut the chicken up. Even if I did have the shears, I had no foil to line the baking sheet. I then came to the conclusion that eating my cereal in the morning would prove to be a challenge with no spoon.

I have no table to eat my dinner on so I have a crappy towel that serves as a placemat and I eat �picnic style.� Thankfully I have some plates and all the pots and pans are mine otherwise I would be up shit creek.

My roommate came by last night to pick up some more of his stuff from his room. I guess he still had clothes and things in the bathroom that needed to be boxed up. When he got there, I was outside on the balcony smoking and my back was to the sliding glass door. Since no was is home, I can feel free to blast whatever I want and not feel bad about it, which is one good thing to being there by myself. The downside is when your roommate, who still has a key, comes in and taps on the sliding glass door when you�re outside smoking and causes you to 1) scream like a woman and 2) go into ninja mode and almost jump off the balcony. I told him it was a good thing the door was closed otherwise I would have gone medieval on his ass. That mother also surprised me one morning when he was still living there. I normally get up way before he does and I was getting my coffee, heading back to my room and had to let out a morning blast of ass. It was loud enough by itself let alone not having any music on to muffle it. As I get into my room I turn around and notice that he�s getting his coffee and is giving me a funny look. I smiled and said �monrnin!�

Only three weeks left of living in McLean. Then I get to high tail it out of there to Alexandria. I�ll be switching upscale stores and the Ritz Carlton for cobblestone streets and stores with an extra �e� on the end (i.e. Old Towne Ice Cream Shoppe). The need to get out of McLean was further underlined when I went there on Sunday to get some shirts (the roommate also has the iron and ironing board). We walk into the entranceway where they have just finished �beautifying our home.� The new marble floor is covered with shattered glass where someone had smashed the light fixture. I get off the elevator and the power suddenly goes out, then comes on, and then goes out again for a good while. I couldn�t get out of the complex since it�s gated and the gates wouldn�t open. Man I hate living there.

My office is having �Diversity Day� here on the 27th of October. We are �encouraged to bring in food, music, or crafts.� I�d give you more details as to what we are encouraged to do, but I threw it away. I hope to god that I�m not around when that all goes down. I�m making a mental note to myself to be at the other building all day next Monday.

I have an executive meeting to go to today and take minutes. I haven�t done that in weeks. For some reason after the end of the fiscal year, the feds shut down operations. That�s all fine and good with me, but getting back into the groove of it is gonna cause some trouble since I�ve been used to sitting on my ass slacking off all day. I guess since they�re paying me I should show up though. It�s Funny how money works like that. Speaking of money, I got a new twenty-dollar bill and paid for my haircut with it. When she took it we had the following conversation:

Cashier: What�s that?

Me: It�s the new 20.

Cashier: Did you get it at a bank?

Me: No, I made it.

Cashier:�

All right, I suppose I should get to work or something along those lines. Please let me fall down today so I can tell y�all about it. This is cupcake, over and out.

e.

Diaryland