2003-10-17 - 10:25 a.m.


 

sucky friday

Office hijinx and a failed attempt to sing in public:

Yesterday was a hell of a day. After getting in early for a meeting that was blown off, I ended up having to stay late because apparently when people say they�re going to meet at 3:00, I guess I should know that 3:00 really means 3:50. I can�t believe I was that na�ve. So I�m pissed because I waited around that long and then once the meeting actually started, someone came into the office to drag one of the mothers to a teleconference that he had forgotten about. That being said, the meeting was cancelled and rescheduled for the butt crack of dawn this morning. Here I sit waiting around again with no one in the office. The two mothers I'm meeting with haven�t even showed up for work today. It makes me want to scream, throw things, and take a crap on their desks.

After leaving work late last night, I high-tailed it back to my now empty apartment, showered, got changed, and headed back towards the city. Traffic was annoying, which was to be expected keeping in mind I was driving into the worse hour of traffic here in the D.C. area. It could have been worse since I was not going in the most popular direction, but going against there really is no such thing as going against traffic during rush hour.

Plans to meet at the bar/restaurant kept getting pushed back because my roommate was being delayed by the movers. I was so hungry by 7:00 that I didn�t know what to do with myself. One of our friends that was supposed to meet us out wound up going home instead and knowing that I had to get up extremely early, once again today I decided it best not to make the journey out. I knew once I got to the bar and had a few cocktails I would have lost all concept of time and would have wound up drinking too much and staying out too late.

I really haven�t been too crazy funny these past few entries so I�ve decided to recount a story that was brought up recently when deciding what I could and could not get rid of in my apartment before I move. I�m getting rid of my bed, and a piece of furniture that is now home to my TV, stereo, and movie library. It was a 30 or 40 dollar piece of plastic from IKEA and quite frankly, after having it for four years, I think it�s served its purpose. Dr. C and I can get something smaller to put in the extra bedroom once one becomes available for us in his complex. Until then, things will be a little on the cramped side in his apartment and so bringing the bare minimum is essential.

My closet houses most of my wardrobe, a laundry basket, and a trunk full of crap that I can most likely get ride of. The trunk is full of gymnastics competitions dating back to the early 90s and I really don�t think I�ll be getting that nostalgic anytime soon. I think I can survive without every watching the 1991 World Championships again. The trunk itself is kind of bulky and was a last minute purchase before one of my many summers of training camp over the summer. Once again, it is/was a 30 or 40 dollar piece of plastic, this time purchased at Bed Bath & Beyond. Dr. C doesn�t think I should throw it away, but quite frankly, my memories of camp, whether they are good or bad, do not involve the trunk. It was never a piece of apparatus that we used before/during/after training. It just served as a decent place to hold my clothes/food since I didn�t have any luggage.

The most vivid memory I have of that trunk dates back to the summer of 2001 when I took it with me to Paris (I just double-checked all my entries to make sure I hadn�t already recounted this story before. I don�t think I have so if this is a repeat story, then I must have a reading problem). Anyway, after a taxi failed to show up to take me to the airport, I had to drag my trunk which weighed a ton, and my other bag, which also weighted a ton, through the Paris metro stations resulting in Eric getting blisters. It made me almost cry upon arriving at the airport because the trunk kept popping open while I was literally dragging it through the turnstiles at the metro stations. Why not get another taxi you ask? Well, you have to pay them cash and only having my credit card, another taxi was out of the question. Besides, taxis will only pick you up at designated taxi stands located on street corners and there wasn�t one close enough to my apartment. Point is, I think I can chuck the trunk.

I�d like to give a shout out to Kristin and apologize for not leaving her a singing telegram on her voicemail like I usually do on Friday. I was way out yesterday and this morning. Girl, I�ll sing for you once again next week.

I was going to try and be funny today, but when you try to do that things just never work out. I pray for some excitement and hilarity this weekend so I can have something fun to say on Monday. Here�s to hoping.

Cheers! It�s Friday!

e.

Diaryland