2003-10-16 - 8:56 a.m.


 

metro stories

Yesterday I was given work to do, which seriously put a cramp in my style. I had to stay later than usual and then once I left the building, I got to the metro platform and noticed that it looked like a mosh pit. It was crazy. I looked at one side of the platform and noticed that a train was just sitting there with no one on the train. Thankfully, train was going in the opposite direction I needed to go so I figured there wouldn�t be that much of a delay. I should have guessed otherwise. A voice came over the intercom saying that due to a sick person on the train, it was not moving and trains going both directions would be sharing the same track for three stops. That being said, everyone upon everyone was on the same side of the platform waiting for trains going in both directions. People were confused and were getting on the first train that came along not realized that some of the trains were not going in the normal direction for that side of the platform. Don�t people notice these things? Of course, when the train arrived that I needed to get on, it was like a dog pile trying to get on the train because you had to fight your way through the crowd of people waiting to go the other direction. It sucked royally and caused a 20-minute delay in me getting home. I honestly didn�t see any doctors running around so I dunno what they meant by �sick person.� This 20 minute delay caused every platform from my stop on to have a billion people waiting to get on. Granted some people got off, but it seemed like for every one person that got off, two really husky people got on. By the end it was like a can of sardines and I was sitting next to a man who fell sleep and kept leaning in my direction. The last thing I want to see is some strange mans head nodding off in my general direction. Had I leaned all the way forward I�ll bet his head would have eventually smacked against window. This is one of those moments where an air horn would have been warranted.

When I left work yesterday I was told to be here bright and early to work on a presentation that I had started yesterday afternoon. If this presentation gets done today, then my boss doesn�t have to come into work tomorrow which is why I had to be here hella early. The only reason I agreed to that is because if he�s not in on Friday, that gives me much more liberty as far as arriving and departing which is always nice, especially on a Friday. Instead of him meeting me at the designated time, I walk into his office, and he�s running out the door saying, �I didn�t have a chance go to through it yet and give you corrections. I have a meeting to go to so I�ll be back in an hour.� This is what I hauled my ass out of bed for? Jackass. He will also be out all next week on vacation. Hooray for that.

I left my fully furnished apartment this morning for the last time. When I go home this evening it will be a barren wasteland. �Wasteland.� I could rip off T.S. Elliot�s hands for that piece of shit. I�ve dropped reading Chaos to finish Wigfield, which I had almost finished but then put down so I could read The DaVinci Code. Having to get up early I was not in the mood to read a book that is chalk full of dialog. My brain just didn�t want to cooperate so I slept on the train next to some big fat man who felt the need to always be pressed up against me. I guess he really had no choice since the seats are only so big, but I was really not in the mood for it after dealing with Mr. Falling Asleep Man yesterday on the way home.

This evening I�m going out with a whole bunch of mothers to Freddie�s Beach Bar and Restaurant which is in Crystal City, right on the outskirts of D.C. They have kareoke and I keep saying I�m going to sing, but never do. I think tonight may be the night when I�m forced up there. This does not please me.

I�d rather sit through a screening of City Slickers III: The legend of Curly�s Curlies than be here right now.

e.

Diaryland