2003-10-01 - 1:21 p.m.


 

stupid people

Stupid people at work Part II

Ok, so I finally had all my budget things squared away by mid-afternoon yesterday and was free and clear from having moronic conversations with people over the phone. I thought I would be good to go for the rest of the afternoon with nothing but some light e-mail checking and IM-ing. I should have known better.

There was a power point presentation that I was assigned to clean up, because it is apparently too difficult to run spell check and center titles of slides, etc. Once that was all in order, I was asked to print a color copy for review. The managers looked over it and decided it was fine. It was going on 3:30 at this point and I already wanted to go home. I was stopped in my tracks when I overheard that 35 copies of this needed to be made. Not just 35 copies, 35 color copies. I asked if I should take it to Kinko�s or give it to the �Hot Copy� room on our floor. I was instructed to print 35 color copies. I informed them that the color printer was extremely slow and that it would take quite awhile for them to be completed. They said �ok, whatever, just make sure you stay until they�re all done.� Brilliant.

I set out to print 35 copies of this 10-page thing and realized that the paper tray in the color printer does not hold an entire ream of paper, which means I had to keep running back and forth to fill it up. My boss walked passed my desk and so kindly told me that the paper was out about half way through printing. The printer is right outside his office. I guess he cannot perform such a complex activity and had to make a special trip to let me know. THANKS!

The printer finished about 4:45, which I guess doesn�t seem all that bad, but I had planned to leave at 3:00. I came in very early to get the budget thing squared away and now I was stuck with this. Everyone else had already left for the day. Then there was Eric, slaving away for a meeting he was not even going to be attending.

On my way home, I got stuck on the metro. There was a delay and I was in a tunnel for 45 minutes. The people on the train starting to wonder what was going on and when the train operator came on the intercom, the volume wasn�t that loud so people kept shouting for her to speak up. Note to the metro riders: We are in the last car, there�s no way you are going to scream loud enough for her to hear you, plus by yelling that loud, your making it that much harder to hear what the chick is trying to say.

I got home about two and a half hours later than normal, which did not please me. I decided to start a new workout routine and work weight lifting back into the mix. This left my arms feeling like rubber and caused me to drop both the bottle of tobasco and the saucepan of soup I was heating up. Three Tylenol PMs later and I was sound asleep.

I just sat through an EXTREMELY boring presentation given by the CEO of our company. It was a bunch of crap and I�m glad to day that at 3:00 today, I will be taking my ass to the metro. Three Cheers for getting out of here on time. Sorry this couldn�t be more interesting, but this mother is tired. Hopefully some more hilarity will be brought into my life shortly so I can report back to diaryland with a few funny new stories or I�ll have to start reaching back into the depths of my brain and recount some craziness from back in the day. Either way, be on the look out. This is cupcake, signing off�

e.

Diaryland