2003-09-15 - 12:08 p.m.


 

weddings

This weekend offered me the opportunity to go to a wedding and go home to Annapolis on Sunday. You know, many of these stories would be much better with pictures and I have asked Santa for a digital camera for Christmas. You might say it�s too early to start thinking about presents, but I don�t think so. Hopefully soon there will be many pictures of strangers, crazies, and hilarious pictures of me in the morning looking all kinds of fancy.

Friday I took the day off because quite frankly, I didn�t want to be at work any more. I went shopping for the wedding present with a former co-worker. The two of us together in the work place was trouble enough. Take away the few ethics that we actually abided by, and you have a recipe for disaster, mayhem, and an all-around good time. We ate lunch, bought a present and some other random stuff for ourselves. It�s impossible not to when you�re pushing around a cart at Bed, Bath, and Beyond. I didn�t get anything crazy, and actually didn�t spend too much money. This mother needs to pay off the credit card.

Saturday was the wedding. There�s nothing like going to a wedding with full-blown communion when you never went to church as a child, or teenager, or adult, etc. There was too much standing up and sitting down for me. That did stop me from falling asleep and the flower girls were funny. There were four of them and each one looked more zombie-ish than the last. They were walking all kinds of stiff and robotic. Their eyes were as wide as dinner plates and every two steps they would drop two petals. This continued for an hour as they were walking entirely too slowly. I�m guessing they had problems at the rehearsal and got yelled at for going too quickly. Either way, they served as my entertainment until the bar opened. Actually, that�s a lie. When rings were exchanged and everyone had the opportunity to go up there and get wet with holy water and eat stale crackers and cheap wine, we left for the reception. Arriving there at 6:30 we found out that they were not expecting people until 7:00 so nothing was set up and the bar wasn�t open yet. Color me frustrated. Remembering that there was a 7-11 next door, we went over there, bought a four pack of down home punch and slurpees. Note to everyone: down home punch mixed with a blue raspberry slurpee works in a pinch should you arrive at a wedding reception too early and there is a 7-11 within walking distance.

Wedding reception anthems were played and I worked it out to Lady Marmalade and Music. The highlight of the evening was watching this woman almost lose her mind when she saw me feed Dr. C a piece of wedding cake. Get over it.

On Sunday I went home to Annapolis to watch the Two Towers with my parents and Kristin. All parties enjoyed it and we ordered pizza instead of having the original dinner my Mom had planned. When deciding what kind of pizza to get, I asked if the restaurant we were ordering from made Margahrita (sp?) Pizza, which is a pretty standard southern Italian sort of thing, and my absolute favorite at Bertucci�s, should you ever want to take me there, although you need to add an additional topping of crushed garlic if you know what�s good for you. I look at the menu and notice it�s not on there and then proceeded to have the following conversation with my mother:

Me: It�s not on the menu.

Mom: Let me see that. *Looking at the menu* It�s not on here.

Me: That�s what I said.

Mom: I�ll bet they can make it. They�re southern Italian.

Me: It�s not a big deal; I just wanted to know if they made it.

Mom: I know, but they�ll make one, gimme the phone.

Me: It�s really not necessary; I actually want some sausage on it or something.

Mom: Oh just give me the phone.

Needless to say, we had Margarhrita Pizza.

Today I am without my MP3 player which means not only do I have no music to strut to as I walk back and forth between my two buildings, but it also takes away my immunity from panhandlers. I think I�m finished walking back and forth between buildings for today though so that actually isn�t a problem anymore unless I decided to break out of here and go get something for lunch outside. Subway sounds good, but I just don�t have it in me to stand in that line that is probably a mile long by now.

I think I have squeezed all that was light-hearted and funny out of my soul this morning. Now all that�s left is hate and crustiness, which actually gives me an edge on tomorrow when I have to take meeting minutes all day long. I will also be taking minutes all day Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. Anyone want a job?

I haven�t put up a picture recently so here�s one:

Nothing spells fun like striking a pose at the Ritz Carlton in Boston after a night of clubbing at some skanky-ass place called The Machine. If there are any Bostonians out there who love it, please explain.

Can�t say I have much else. Updating will be a bitch for rest of the week as I will be in conferences all day long. That means nightly updates. That makes Eric cranky. That makes Eric�s diary funnier. See what I go through for everyone? Send check, cash, or money order�thank you.

e.

You're Tinkerbell!
Tinkerbell

Who 's Your Inner Sexy Cartoon Chick ?
brought to you by Quizilla

Diaryland