2003-09-11 - 10:48 a.m.


 

like Ricky...only not Part II

This is a mid morning update from this entry. I tried to just tack it on to the bottom, but what actually happened was a big old HTML mess and not wanting to go in and put paragraph breaks in where I needed to, I decided to write another entry and just hyperlink the one from this morning. Work smarter, not harder�one of the many things I learned from watching hours upon hours of Duck Tales. I miss that cartoon. I think I could still sing all the words to the theme song.

Top Ten reasons today started off like a monkey�s ass:

1. My MP3 player didn�t want to turn on so I had no music for my metro ride/walk into work. I downloaded all new songs onto it and I was very excited to rock out like I normally do, but instead my headphones had to be used as earmuffs and protection from people trying to talk to me.

2. I go to get coffee this morning, order my usual double espresso and after leaving and taking a sip, I realize that it�s lighter than it should be and when I took the lid off I notice that there�s only a single shot in there. What the hell am I supposed to do with a single shot. That�s enough to maybe make me giddy for an hour or so when what I really want is enough caffeine so that I believe I can fly, lift very heavy objects, and give me enough strength to get me through my weekly telecon at 11:00.

3. I�m over at my federal building for most of the day today. My gopher of a boss has gone on vacation and now I have to �support� those who will be standing in for him at meetings. This = �hey Eric, what�s this�. Hey Eric, where�s this�hey Eric, who�s that?� It�ll be like taking care of a 3-year-old, only quite frankly, I think I�d rather be taking care of a three-year-old. Scary thought, as I tend to dislike the childrens.

4. I committed myself to typing ten reasons why today started off like a monkey�s ass.

5. I forgot my tie today.

These last five are reasons today started off like a monkey�s ass, but in a good way:

6. Thinking about what other famous Latin mothers I could say I look like. (I.e. Ricardo, J-Lo, any not-so-famous member of Menudo, Speedy Gonzales, and Shakira)

7. My boss-man is gone so that means today I can possibly slide out earlier than yesterday when I had to stay late and listen to his dumbass ramble on and on like I was his kid and he was leaving me all alone in the house. (�if you get into trouble, call so and so, and if blah blah blah calls, you tell them this�don�t let any strangers into the house and remember to take out the trash, feed the camels and try not to have any Jell-O wrestling parties�)

8. Thinking about my family�s penchant for having all kinds of random nicknames for everyone. The most recent has been a wrestling name. Previous categories have included black sit-com characters and other random ones that come up when someone says or does something retarded. My wrestling name is Thunder and my special move is called �the hurricane.� My mother�s name is Justice and her special move is �the gavel.� She�s such a trooper. Kristin has the best name as hers is Lashes and her move is �the wink.� (she�ll kill you in the blink of an eye�WITH her eye)

9. Farting in the shower and having it sound like a duck. I made a duck noise back at my ass, but I got no response from it. Sometimes we just don�t get along.

10. Having the phone ring and it being someone wanting me to do something work related. Who do you think I am? I am not running a business here, people. This needs to be understood here and now before people actually leave me voicemail.

As you may or may not have noticed, I�m getting better with the links and such. Before I was too lazy, but I guess now that I know how to do them it makes me nerdy�or something. I dunno. Anyway, this has been the mid-morning update�perhaps I shall do this on every entry. Then again, maybe not. The point is, there�s only one more bullet in this gun and guess who�s gonna get it!

e.

Diaryland