2003-09-10 - 9:17 a.m.


 

NellyBall

NellyBall:

Ok, so yesterday I planned to go to the volleyball match to watch my roommate and our good friend play. The match was at 7:00 and two of our other friends joined me at the complex they were playing at to be a part of my cheering squad. We really should have had a rehearsal beforehand.

The sports complex consisted of two indoor soccer fields, and about 8 or 9 volleyball courts. My friends and I stood by the plexi-glass until my roommate waved us onto the court where they were warming up. There was a wall of sorts that separated the volleyball courts from the soccer field. It was about four feet tall and there was plenty of room on top to sit so he told us that usually when people come they just sit on the wall. The problem was this: the only thing separating the ball from smacking me in the face should one come flying at me was my nose. There was a net behind me that went from the wall to the ceiling to prevent loose soccer balls from suddenly adding a new dimension to any of three volleyball matches, however we were not protected from the volleyball. There was a slight possibility of getting hit in the back of the head by a soccer ball since there was only a net there. I was in visioning being hit in the back of the head by a soccer ball and being thrusted* off the wall and into the volleyball match itself. It looked like the team my roommate was playing could have used the extra person anyway.

*Ok, thrusted is not recognized by word. Jesus, Bill Gates needs to get on the stick, because of a red squiggly line does not come up with I type shit, fuck, or cocksucker, however it does come up when I type thrusted, then I have a few questions.

So, we�re sitting up on the wall and I have decided that after each point my roommates team wins, we did a semi-cheer consisting of three claps following by a finger snap and a one legged kick-back. It was all good when we were N*Sync with each other, but my other two friends got distracted by the soccer players so sometimes I had to do it by myself.

My roommates team won all three games of the match so that was fun, then we hightailed it back to our apartment for dinner. The match was so much fun to watch and everyone seemed to appreciate our cheers. The only depressing thing was that watching it made me miss competitive sports in a big way. I told them that next year I would play on their team and at the very least, I�m going to join the tennis league out here that has an ongoing tennis ladder where you can challenge people, play matches, etc. They also reserve indoor courts in the wintertime so I won�t have to go six months without playing, which drives me insane.

It was fun having an impromptu dinner party on a Tuesday. It totally broke up the week and now I only have one more day of work before the week is out. I took of Friday because I�m a loser. Actually, I was going to play in a tennis tournament this weekend that started on Friday, but after realizing that I could not spare the 100-dollar entry fee, I decided to do it next year.

My Mom gave me a pen yesterday that it completely clear however when you click it the inside lights up all different colors and starts to flash. It�s the coolest thing ever and she said that now I could sign all-important documents in the dark. I think I�ll make people turn off the lights in meetings so that I can have my own sort of fun with the pen. Perhaps I should bring in a boom box and start jamming out to some circuit party music, waving around my pen and blowing on a disco whistle. If they don�t appreciate that, then I don�t EVER want to take their meeting minutes again.

Thanks for all the comments yesterday, you guys totally kick ass. No faulting people for not knowing to Deborah Cox is, however I STRONGLY advise picking up her remixed album if you know what�s good for you.

All right, this is cupcake�signing off.

*THIS IS A MID-MORNING UPDATE BECAUSE I HAD A DOUBLE ESPRESSO AND I'M BOUNCING OFF THE WALLS* Just in case you haven't noticed, my sister and I have taken to calling ourselves Cupcake and Kitten. This is because we love to say those words so much that they are also now our pet names. My Mom decided that hers would be Pepper since she loves to say the word Pepper. Let me know what word you love to say and let everyone around you know that you would henceforth like to be called said name.

e.

Diaryland