2003-09-10 - 10:27 p.m.


 

like ricky...only not

According to this entry by Jonathan29, I may very well be lookin� like Mr. Ricky Martin. The picture on my profile is a bit cracked out and actually, upon closer inspection, I do somewhat resemble the bon-bon shaker. This has actually happened to me a couple of times before, people thinking I look like Ricky Martin. I could be on "Performing As!" At one of my previous jobs, one of the guys that worked in the cafeteria used to think the same thing and every day when I went down for coffee I�d walk in and hear �HEY RICKY!!!!� It took me forever to realize that he was talking to me. I walked in there one day and I was all by myself and I heard �HEY RICKY!�. I turned, noticing that no one else was in there and said �um, you know my name isn�t Ricky, right?� He looked at me like I had just peed my pants and said �um, yeah, I know Eric, I�m just saying you remind us of Ricky Martin.� This was during the famed �Livin� La Vida Loca� phase. I was flattered, but at the same time, I don�t see how having a background of Latvian and Swedish has suddenly rendered me Latin looking. Wonders never cease.

This is an unusual evening update. I usually never tool around with this except for when I�m at work because, by god, it gives me some relief from the government grind that drives me insane. I did see the following things on the metro ride home that made my late day worth while:

1. A man in turquoise ski pants and a red shirt, walking VERY briskly from the metro train. He had shit to do and I�ll be damned if I was going to get in his way.

2. A woman asleep on the metro. Nothing new, but her legs were all out in front of her and her head was completely arched back with her mouth wide open...if only I had a peanut M&M to throw.

3. Some tragic mess with bad highlights who thought that just because I was looking out the window that I couldn�t see his reflection in the mirror as he stared in my direction. Every time I turned to face forward he looked away really fast. Your not that slick buddy...I�m on to you!

I played tennis after work today which was an extremely grotesque thing to watch. My timing was all off and I kept hitting everything a nanosecond too late and the ball just wasn�t listening to me.

I am boss-less for two and a half weeks which makes me happy and will hopefully lead to longer, funnier entries full of wonder and Mary-ment. I�ll see what I can dig up for pictures to show how in some lighting, I don�t look like Ricky Martin, but more like Daisy Fuentes...not really.

I�ll probably be forced to write another entry that actually has some merit and I�ll need the escape from my government cube-mates. Keep an eye out.

e.

Diaryland