2003-09-04 - 10:33 a.m.


 

metro rides and museums

I have been out of character for many moments already today. We will see if that is going to continue throughout this wonderful and rainy Thursday. This morning on the metro I fell asleep like I normally do and woke up about three stops before mine. Not really paying attention, I stare out the window and wait out what I think is three stops. The train pulls into one of the stations and all these people start piling out of the train. I notice this is pretty odd because there are only certain stops where that many people get off, mine being one of them. I casually look out the window to see that this is, in fact, my stop. Of course I�m sitting in a window seat, and of COURSE there is someone sitting right on top of me. Once I notice the sign that says �L�Enfant Plaza,� I made sort of a hiccup noise, bang my knees against the seat in front of me, and do a semi-hurdle over my seatmate. I grab one of the polls and head out the door. It probably looked like I was trying to escape a murderer I had just noticed standing outside my window, at least that�s what my facial expression probably said. I get off the train and then laughed hysterically at the kind of scene that must have looked like. Being an active participant, I can only hope it was as good as it sounded. Needless to say the other passengers left several steps between us on the escalator. Oh well ,not like I talk to those mothers anyway, let alone form some sort of relationship.

I get into the office, put my lunch away and spend a few moments checking my work email and writing out my to-do list for the day. I take a quick break to give a shout out to some people on IM and then head over to my other office located in one of the many federal buildings here in Downtown D.C. I have been working down here for quite some time now and I decided that it would be fun to take a new route. What happened was that rather than ending up outside my building, I would up outside the Smithsonian Museum. Beautiful. I knew it was close to my building, but not that close. I guess I can always go for some culture should I take a long enough lunch break. I usually don�t get lost like that, nor do I almost miss my stop like that. I guess my inner self just doesn�t want to participate in today�s activities.

I�m going to Oh-HI-O this weekend to drop off Dr. C�s old car to his parents. This means that we will be having to caravan out there. I get the luxury of driving his old car with no A/C and a radio with one speaker. He offered to let me drive the new car, but I don�t want to smoke in his new car so I think on a long road trip, I would go crazy not smoking before I would go crazy with no music. He has a boom box that I will load up with D batteries. Mix tapes akimbo. That way the only think I�ll really be lacking is someone to talk to, but if I can sing as loud as I want and smoke, then I should be ok. We can always trade off at bathroom breaks I suppose. Besides, if someone hit me in either car, I would rather be driving the older, crappier one as opposed to the newly purchased 2004 toyota matrix.

NOTE: Microsoft word doesn�t recognize crappier. It suggests crapper. Crapper!

I have a teleconference at 11:00, which only spells fun. Three cheers for that.

On my way over here to the building, while I was walking around like I knew where I was going, a truck passed me with the following slogan: One Potato. Two Potato. Three Potato. PORK! I wish I had my camera.

e.

You'll notice that now my "contact me" icon actually works and you can email me. Not sure if anyone has actually even bothered to notice that it didn't work, but regardless, you can now send me a shout out. Also, you'll see the link to my sisters rad-ass diary. You gotta love the picture of that cat. Here Kitty Kitty!

Diaryland