2003-08-27 - 10:12 a.m.


 

power

Let�s talk about how much fun it isn�t when your power goes out. But first, I would like to say that when a meeting is scheduled to end at 3:30, it is my understanding that when 3:30 rolls around, we need to wrap things up and get the hell out, especially since I leave at 4:00 and any lollygagging will result in me not being able to leave work on time which is never pleasant especially when there is an impending storm that will most likely cause me to walk in the downpour should I be late getting back to the metro station. I was ready to eat glass when that meeting went over the time limit, and I was even more irritated when it went an HOUR over. I�m tasked with taking meeting minutes because it seems that these people are too incompetent to remember what was said and if they were given an action item.

So, of course, I get on the metro late. About two stops away from when I�m supposed to get off, the rain sets in. I realize that a little rain is fine, I can handle that, but when it�s 5:00 in the afternoon during the summer and the clouds outside have made it look like midnight, you know some shit is about to go down. Not only did it start raining, but I notice the cars on the highway pulling over because they are unable to see in the buckets of water that are flying at them at every direction possible. This gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling knowing damn good and well that I�m without an umbrella. I have a very strict schedule to adhere to once I get in my car and we all know that one little spit of rain on the asphalt and suddenly it�s WWIII on the highway. The D.C. Metro area is one of the worst places in the entire country for commuting pains. Throw in a severe thunderstorm and you�ll feel like you�re being jacked up by a burly man carrying a sandpaper-wrapped corn cob that�s going straight where the sun don�t shine.

I get to the station and everyone is huddled under the covered walkway. The buses are all lined up around it and one by one; people make brave dashes in the typhoon to get on those mothers. I�m a little less annoyed at this moment since it amuses me to no end to watch those bastards in monkey suits high-stepping it to the bus while trying to cover themselves with newspaper�if only the ink would bleed.

The shuttle that takes me from the metro station back to my parking garage is pulling away as I am coming up the escalator�brilliant.

I make a mad dash for one of the covered bus stop things and wait for a couple of minutes thinking about how wet I would/will become while hoofin� it to the garage. There�s not time like the present and I had shit to do so I make like a thief that just robbed a liquor store and haul ass through the neighborhood all while trying not to slip and fall on my ass. I don�t think I�ve run that fast in the rain ever�if Carl Lewis had been there, I would have given him a run for his money�ha�get it�run for his money. (Someone take me out now).

I attempt to go to the grocery store and get a few things for dinner and then I�m heading home to relax and watch a movie before I have to get ready for the next crappie day of the week. I get on the highway and notice that all the traffic lights are out. By this time and rain had let up and the sky was blue once again. It had been pouring for about 40 minutes and suddenly it was gone and now the real fun begins. I drive by the grocery store to discover that the power is out�wonderful. I go further down the road where the traffic lights are functional, get my food, get the hell out and try to head for home.

My apartment complex is off of a main highway and of course, it�s the highway that has all the traffic lights out. 45 minutes later I arrive at my complex and notice that there are no lights on in any of the windows as I drive past. This does not spell fun, especially when Eric has just purchased frozen items.

The hallways are dark and when I walk into the building there�s a little ADT looking system box that is flashing a red light that reads �TROUBLE.�

I walk down the pitch-black hall way and up the stairs to my apartment where luckily the blinds are open and there is some light coming in. I put the frozen stuff in the freezer and make a mental note not to open it. I go outside and read while there is still some light but once the darkness sets in, picture me sitting on a couch with three candles burning and me staring at the fire while I can hear the seconds tick away on the batter operated clock we have in the living room. I�m so much fun at this point I can�t even stand myself.

My roommate is gone and here I am, thankfully with a little battery life left in my cell phone. My sister and I call each other and just keep screaming into the phone to vent our frustrations as she is also without power.

Like the tricky little bitch that it is, the power decided to come back on around 10:30. I forgot to mention that this whole time I was unable to eat anything except for a few peanuts I had because everything I own requires cooking. Ugh, whatever.

I�m tired now and don�t want to talk about it any more. At least I have power now�and today I�m going for a photo shoot for an advertisement for a club here in D.C. Stop the insanity. It�s only 10:00 and it�s only Wednesday.

Don�t just stand there, let�s get to it

Strike a pose, there�s nothing to it

VOGUE

e.

Diaryland