2004-04-20 - 12:29 p.m.


 

Sick with a new job

There�s no better way to celebrate a new job by taking a double dose of NyQuil and knocking yourself out for 16 hours. It also helps if the person you share the bed with decides in his/her sleep to knee you in the butt and causes you to do a jerky motion resembling that of a pole-vaulter.

I suppose I deserved it though because on Sunday night I basically had a nightmare freak out and screamed and thrashed until Dr. C woke me up. However when he first put his hand on my shoulder to try and wake me up I went epileptic and tried to kill him.

For some reason over the weekend I was severely affected by the pollen and hopefully the rain that is supposed to hit overnight will dumb it down a shade. Yesterday I was at 50% capacity so I basically almost fell asleep several times at my desk and then had to take meeting minutes for over two hours. They were the worst minutes I�ve ever taken in my life. Only 8 more days of this torture and then I can drive into work and listen to music, drink coffee and all that jazz.

I told the gopher I gave notice and I was expecting sort of a violent reaction with swearing, arm flailing, and all around indignant behavior. Instead he was happy for me and went on a 30 minute tangent about how I needed to move around from job to job and then how his daughter does the same thing, blah blah blah. I would have rather heard him scream at me.

I�m wearing my cotton candy pink dress shirt and I�m ready to work. Unfortunately the thing I have been tasked with today involves a software program that I have not touched since July of last year. Color me retarded. My watch battery will hopefully be fixed today on my way home and then I can stop looking at it and wondering why the time never changes. Hey guess what Eric, your watch is broken�STILL.

So, I have a new job that starts May 3rd, I get to leave this hell hole and I�m on the mend from some sort of pollen/sickness hybrid. When I�m back to full capacity and I�ll other things to share but since I was in and out of consciousness all day yesterday I don�t have anything else to share. We�ll see if I manage to have a night where I do not believe my life is in jeopardy, or at least one where I can finally figure out what�s going on in my dream and be able to make it stop and kill everyone in the dream who is trying to get me. I love it when that happens.

e.

Diaryland